PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, The Netherlands

Telephone: +31 70 302 4165 Facsimile: +31 70 302 4167 E-mail: bureau@pca-cpa.org Website: www.pca-cpa.org



COUR PERMANENTE D'ARBITRAGE

Palais de la Paix, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ La Haye, Pays-Bas

Téléphone: +31 70 302 4165 Télécopie: +31 70 302 4167 Courriel: bureau@pca-cpa.org Site Internet: www.pca-cpa.org

PRESS RELEASE

ARCTIC SUNRISE ARBITRATION (NETHERLANDS V. RUSSIA)

THE HAGUE, 21 MARCH 2014

Arbitral Tribunal Holds First Procedural Meeting

On 17 March 2014, the Arbitral Tribunal constituted under Annex VII to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea in the matter of the vessel *Arctic Sunrise* held its First Meeting in Bonn, Germany, in which matters of procedure were discussed and decided. Both the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Russian Federation were invited to participate in the First Meeting. The Netherlands was represented by Prof. Dr. Liesbeth Lijnzaad (Agent) and Prof. Dr. René Lefeber (Co-Agent). There were no representatives from the Russian Federation.

Following the First Meeting, the Arbitral Tribunal issued its first two procedural orders, adopting Terms of Appointment, Rules of Procedure, and an initial timetable for the arbitration. The Netherlands shall submit its Memorial on jurisdiction, admissibility and merits by no later than 31 August 2014. After consulting the Parties, the Arbitral Tribunal has determined that the place of the arbitration is Vienna, Austria.

* * *

These proceedings were commenced on 4 October 2013 when the Netherlands addressed to Russia a Notification and Statement of Claim under Article 287 and Annex VII, Article 1 of the Convention. The dispute concerns the boarding and detention of the vessel *Arctic Sunrise* in Russia's exclusive economic zone and the detention of the persons on board the vessel by Russian authorities. By *Note Verbale* to the Permanent Court of Arbitration dated 27 February 2014, Russia has indicated "its refusal to take part in this arbitration."

The President of the Arbitral Tribunal is Judge Thomas Mensah (Ghana). The other members of the Arbitral Tribunal are Mr. Henry Burmester (Australia), Professor Alfred Soons (the Netherlands), Professor Janusz Symonides (Poland), and Dr. Alberto Székely (Mexico). The Permanent Court of Arbitration acts as the Registry in the arbitration.

The Netherlands' diplomatic note instituting arbitral proceedings, including its Statement of Claim, Russia's *Note Verbale* to the PCA dated 27 February 2014, *Procedural Order No. 1 (Terms of Appointment)*, the *Rules of Procedure*, and *Procedural Order No. 2* are available on the PCA's website at http://pca-cpa.org/showpage.asp?pag_id=1556

* * *

Contact: Permanent Court of Arbitration

E-mail: bureau@pca-cpa.org